Spring Cleaning

As I write, I’m sitting in my Buenos Aires apartment, listening to the rain outside, and sipping a delicious, piping-hot cup of green tea with mint. Tranquil, right? Well not so much. Every few seconds I’m bent into a new tissue, blowing my brains out and attempting to make my ears pop. The hot tea is to help my mucus flow faster, and the rain outside is the reason I’m sick.

It’s been a rough winter.

When I thought Southern Hemisphere, I never pictured cold, wet winters. It’s been a year since I’ve lived here, and I think I’ve just survived my most miserable winter. Many people in this world have it much worse in the winter. Snow, tire chains, and shoveling their driveway is a regularity. But I’m a California girl, and I wasn’t prepared for Buenos Aires’ ugly winter. Although it’s not as intense as the winters in probably 70% of the world, I suffered.

For the past two months, I’ve been on and off with a terrible cold. Usually I can work through it, but this time it was the type of illness that made my whole body ache and stuffed me up so much I didn’t get out of bed for 2, 3, 4 days in a row. And then, just as quickly as it came, it would go away. But once the days got colder, my body, once more, turned into nothing more than weak bones and clunky mucus.

So now I’m taking control and taking my body back.

I cannot stand being restricted from functioning at full capacity, both physically and mentally. Although I’m young, I’m aware my days and numbered, and I’m not going to let my external surroundings dictate my internal being. Through this blog, and throughout the following weeks, I will journal my route to internal body wellness.

This is not a weight loss blog, I won’t be posting pictures of myself, and I certainly won’t be letting the cyber world know how much I weigh 😉 This blog is about health. And I’m excited for my journey.

So here I go! First up is October’s first week and Buenos Aires’ entrance into Spring. The weather is supposed to be better tomorrow, so I’ll be running errands to the dietética (health food store) and verduleria (fruit/veggie stand) to buy ingredients for the following recipes. I live with my boyfriend and he has grown up on Argentina’s over-processed foods. Just as in the states, it’s everywhere! So instead of going into the store and attempting to “get healthy” by purchasing the low-fat, low-carb, no-sugar crap they sell, I’m challenging myself to eat WHOLE, HEALTHY, and NOURISHING foods. The best way to do that? COOK AT HOME.

Quinoa Banana Bread from DishbyDish (a blog run by a Singaporean expat living in BA)

Pineapple/Kale/Apple/Cucumber Juice –no juicer needed– from Chalkboard Mag

Apple/Carrot/Beet/Ginger Juice from Minimalist Baker

I’ll post updates of how these first recipes go 🙂 Happy healthy!

Leave a Reply

